Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Municipal District of Piltown

Venue: Meeting Room, Ferrybank Area Office

Meeting Date: 8th June, 2016 at 10am **Cathaoirleach**: Cllr. Pat Dunphy

Present: Cllrs. Ger Frisby, Fidelis Doherty, Tomas Breathnach and Melissa O'Neill

In Attendance: Marie Melia, Director of Services, Kevin Hanley, Meetings Administrator and Laura Murphy,

A/Staff Officer

Apologies: Cllr. Eamon Aylward

Welcome Cllr. Dunphy welcomed all to the Annual General Meeting.

Outset

Cllr. Dunphy thanked the members for their work, commitment and understanding over the past year and said a lot of work was done at local level. He acknowledged and thanked Ian Gardner, Kevin Hanley, Maria Melia, Oonagh Bannon, Laura Murphy and all staff of the Area Office for their work and support. He also thanked Dermot Keynes and Sam Matthews from the press for their good and fair coverage of the Municipal District of Piltown meetings. Cllr. Dunphy acknowledged the facilities available at the Ferrybank Library and its contribution to the local community. He expressed his thanks to the staff of the Library for their work.

Election of Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations from the Members.

Cllr. Dunphy nominated Cllr. Ger Frisby; this was seconded by Cllr. Doherty and agreed.

Cllr. Frisby thanked Cllrs. Dunphy and Doherty for their nominations and congratulated them on the past year. Cllr. Frisby said he was delighted and honoured to accept the role of Cathaoirleach and that he would do his best to fulfil the role and to keep working together for the people of the area. He noted the Members of the MD of Piltown worked well together and got a lot of work done. Cllr. Frisby said he is looking forward to working with the Executive and staff of the County Council and set out some of his priorities for the year ahead, which included:-

Boundary Review Housing

3 Sisters Bid 2020 Water & Water Quality

Greenway Maintaining funding & use of same

Economic Development Amenities
Playgrounds Public Lighting

Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

The Cathaoirleach invited nominations from the Members.

Cllr. Doherty nominated Cllr. Eamon Aylward; this was seconded by Cllr. Dunphy and agreed.

All the members joined in congratulating Cllrs. Frisby and Aylward and also Cllr. Dunphy on a good year as Cathaoirleach.

On behalf of the Executive of Kilkenny County Council, Maria Melia thanked Cllr. Dunphy and congratulated Cllrs. Frisby and Aylward and looked forward to the year ahead.

Fix Dates for Meetings

It was agreed to hold Municipal District meetings on the first Wednesday of each month.

This concluded the business of the meeting.		
Signed:	Dated:	_
Cathaoirleach		